Shade Tree Commission

Meets 2nd Tuesday of the Month
6:00 pm
Borough Hall - 2nd Floor, Blue Room
Meeting Open To The Public
201-460-3000 x4008

Council Liaison: Matt Cokeley
Commission Chairperson: Frank Sasso

Members (5 year terms):
Commission Secretary: Margaret Scott
Steve Addeo
Greg Goumas
Sue McLean
Jonathan Anderson
John Trosky – Alternate #1
Laura Seehaus – Alternate #2

Click here for Shade Tree Commission minutes and agendas.

How to Identify and Kill Spotted Lantern Flies.

Mission Statement:
The Borough of Rutherford Shade Tree Commission promotes the conservation and stewardship of trees throughout the Borough by advising and working with Borough officials, the Department of Public Works and Shade Tree Division regarding the planting, care and maintenance of public property trees. It is our heritage, responsibility and commitment for a long term investment in the beauty, health and character of our tree canopy throughout Rutherford.

As part of this year’s Arbor Day celebration, the Rutherford Shade Tree Commission coordinated the planting of a large Linden tree at Borough Hall, in honor of long-time resident Marianne Coston. Marianne was a great supporter of the Brough of Trees and for the care and protection of the historic tree canopy in which she spent her life. She advocated the re-establishment of a Shade Tree Commission, and had great encouragement for the citizens who devoted their time and resources to its relaunch. - Video by Alex Fiume